Want for others what you want for yourself!

Aadmi jo kehta hai, Aadmi jo Sunta hai

Zindagi bhar who sadaaen peechcha karti hain

Aadmi jo daita hai, Aadmi jo laita hai

Zindagi bhar who duaen peechchakarti hain1

Translation: “what a person says or hear, those sounds follow him all his life. A persons good deed given or received follow him all his life.

There is no refuge from memory and remorse in this world.  The spirits of our foolish deeds haunt us, with or without repentance.2

The memories, often very painful, are also from the pain of the wound inflicted upon us by others. Most painful are from the wounds inflected by your own blood. It hurts the most because we don’t expect them causing the pain. You really can’t trust anybody. Its always the people you least expect.3

For it is not an enemy who reproaches me, Then I could bear it; Nor is it one who hates me who has exalted himself against me, Then I could hide myself from him. But it is you, a man my equal, My companion and my familiar friend.4

 There is no pain equal to that which two lovers can inflict on one another. This should be made clear to all who contemplate such a union. The avoidance of this pain is the beginning of wisdom, for it is strong enough to contaminate the rest of our lives.5

Happy families are all alike. But Families, contemporary style, are meant to mess you up, invariably hurtful, laden with animosity, denial, illusion essential for survival and at the very least a lifetime of misunderstandings.6

A family is a place where minds come in contact with one another. If these minds love one another, the home will be as beautiful as a flower garden. But if these minds get out of harmony with one another, it is like a storm that plays havoc with the garden.7

The defects and faults of the mind are like wounds in the body; after all imaginable care has been taken to heal them up, still there will be a scar left behind.8

It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds. I do not agree. The wounds remain.  In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens.  But it is never gone.9

While compiling this collage of famous qoutes I am contemplating did I deliberately inflict any pain to people? Yes in course of my life I might have, but it was not deliberate and I did not do it for the pleasure or satisfaction of ego. I do regret some of the actions. I could have been wiser and chose a different direction. However I am satisfied that I was not unjust, empathy and altruism was my preference in life, given by the parameters “none of you truly believes until he wishes for his brother what he wishes for himself”10

I agree the wound is never gone and keep popping out of the scars, every time you come across the thought of those, who you loved but got nothing but pain. And you wonder why? Mark Twain wrote “Of all the animals, man is the only one that is cruel. He is the only one that inflicts pain for the pleasure of doing it.”

I also see the faces of people including my relatives and my own blood lurching across the screen of my memory and I am wondering did they get any pleasure, did the one who passed away ever repented , or the one still alive, and continuing to poke the pain inflected will ever repent?

“There is no refuge from memory and remorse in this world.  The spirits of our foolish deeds haunt us, with or without repentance.” 11

References

  1. Song written by Javed Akhtar included in movie Majboor.(1964)
  2. Canadian Novelist Gilbert Parker (1862-1932)
  3. Unknown quote.
  4. Psalm 55: 12-13
  5. English Writer Cyril Connolly (1903-1974)
  6. Russian writer (Leo) Count Lev Nikolayevich Tolstoy (1828-1910)
  7. Gautama Buddha
  8. French writer François de la Rochefoucauld (1613-1680)
  9. Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy (1890-1995)
  10.  Hadith Nabvi
  11. Gilbert Parker.

 

 

This entry was posted in Life Skills, Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

